PDA

View Full Version : Hoosier hello

shaman
07-15-2008, 17:47
Hello all.

I have been reading some of the great information here for a while and decided it was time to join the discussion.

I am fairly new to drinking bourbon (at least anything that does not have red wax on the neck of the bottle).

I just finished a bottle of 1792 which I enjoyed very much. It seemed a very good bourbon especially for the summer. I am looking for another summer bottle to try now. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance for your help in my next selection.

Paul

chilidawg7
07-15-2008, 18:16
Welcome Paul! Like many folks here, sounds like Maker's got you started and now you're on your way to trying a few new products. You came to the right place! This group is helpful and will gladly offer up suggestions.

I have not tried 1792 myself, but would recommend a few products.

One is Old Granddad 114, known here as OGD 114. It's a bit more powerful than the others at 114 proof, but it is one of my favorites. It is readily available at most stores and is reasonably priced (usually under $25.)

Another good one is WL Weller Centennial. A bit more expensive, but usually gets good reviews by myself and others.

You may also want to check out this thread (http://www.straightbourbon.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9928&highlight=should+buy) as it offers up some good advice for a relatively new bourbon drinker.

NeoTexan
07-15-2008, 18:25
Welcome from another Indy bourbon guy. There are a few others from the board from Indy. I am looking to move to better digs and am planning a get together (to partially pay back for all the kind invitations from others) once we get settled. May still be a few months, so in the mean time ..... there are always a few nice places to meet and have a wee dram.

smokinjoe
07-15-2008, 19:01
Hoosier Daddy?!?!?!?! :cool:

Welcome aboard, Paul. I'm sure you'll enjoy your time here. For sure, you've got great neighbors in Bourbonia, in the Indy area.