PDA

View Full Version : Hello from So. Ill.

JDC20
10-15-2008, 19:30
Great boards! Been lurking for a while and really liked the info and the flow of the site. I've been drinking bourbon for a couple of years now and have really gotten serious in the last 6 months. Luckily with my job I am in KY at least once every a month, so theres plenty of opportunity to go shopping.

Thanks for having me!

Jake

callmeox
10-15-2008, 19:31
Welcome aboard!

What are some of your favorites?

JDC20
10-15-2008, 19:46
Welcome aboard!

What are some of your favorites?

It's hard to say, too many good ones out there. Currently I've been pretty happy with 4 roses single barrel and VW12 lot B. But my taste change like the weather.

ILLfarmboy
10-15-2008, 20:04
Welcome, Jake

I look forward to you posting in the future.

We need more Illinois representation. Glad to have you.

Jono
10-15-2008, 20:29
Out of curiosity, how did you find the site?

I just did a Google search on "bourbon" and SB is the 3rd listed....is this similar to what you did?

Or, were you looking up a particular bourbon and got routed here?

bluesbassdad
10-15-2008, 20:35
It's hard to say, too many good ones out there. Currently I've been pretty happy with 4 roses single barrel and VW12 lot B. But my taste change like the weather.

Welcome, Jake!

IMO you can't go wrong with any bottling that has Van Winkle on the label. I haven't had the opportunity to try any of the Four Roses bottlings.

I have to ask about your user name. IMO anything north of U.S. Hwy 50 doesn't qualify as southern. Carbondale. Marion. Cave-in-Rock. Cairo. They are the real southern Illinois. My home town, Flora, just barely makes the cut. :grin:

Yours truly,
Dave Morefield

ACDetroit
10-15-2008, 20:38
Hey Jake welcome, I hope you find all you ever wanted to know about Bourbon here! I know I have and somethings I didn't want to know but it's all good.

Enjoy and I look forward to you contribution!

Tony

JDC20
10-15-2008, 20:44