PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from MI

GPRook
01-22-2009, 13:58
Hello all. I've been nosing around for a couple of weeks and have gained a lot of good information, especially the "gateway" thread. Thought I would say hi.

I'm in Grosse Pointe Michigan. Just moved here from Lansing 8 months ago and I'm still learning my way around, including the best bars/liquor stores. As far as bourbon goes? I've definately a newbie. My drinking habits are usually JD/Coke (stong on the JD), Seagrams/Sprite, vodka gimlets, beer (Killians, Lienkugals (sp), Sam Adams), or wine (chianti, California Cab, or pino noir). My only attempt at stronger bourbon drinks has been an attempt at a manhattan a couple of years ago, but I was unsure on the mix and it ended with bourbon and coke. I've also played a bit with brandy and thus far was not that much of a fan. Tried some Cutty Shark in college (11 years ago) and did not care for it.

So, I'm getting the itch to try bourbon again, this time I'll try with a bit of water or ice and I've also looked up how to make a proper old fashioned. My wife has a "girls night out" tonight, so I'm stopping at the liquor store on the way home. Planning on Makers Mark, Knob Creek, JB Black, or if they have it AVP 15. If anyone has suggestions, let em fly.

reggie
01-22-2009, 18:09
Evan Williams Single Barrel and Buffalo Trace are two of the first bourbons I tried and are still favorites of mine. They shouldn't be to hard to find or too expensive.

Dr. François
01-22-2009, 18:22
Welcome to the site. I still live in Lansing.

If you have a good store nearby, I'd second Buffalo Trace and I'd also suggest Elijah Craig 12 Year Old. Both are within 5 bucks of each other. Very different styles, but neither dissapoints.

Again, welcome!

fishnbowljoe
01-22-2009, 20:26