PDA

View Full Version : What do you call yourself?

Blitz
01-27-2009, 15:06
I am new to this and very enthusiastic. I am always talking to people about bourbon, but it’s often awkward when trying to label my interest in bourbon. For many interests this is easy. Stamp collector….furniture refinisher…..hunter…etc.. So, if anything, what do you call yourself?

Bourbon:
Connoisseur?
Enthusiast?
I don’t worry about it?

IronHead
01-27-2009, 15:29
"Bourbon Dork" is how I describe my obsession.

kickert
01-27-2009, 15:30
I usually call myself either a bourbon drinker or a bourbon lover. Some call me the past tense of the first one.

ggilbertva
01-27-2009, 15:51
"Bourbon Dork" is how I describe my obsession.

That's what my wife calls me and one of my kids gave me a flask with that engraved on it.

polyamnesia
01-27-2009, 16:20
no label here...i guess (self-reflexively!)...more like i say to folks if it comes up, 'i love whiskies, but mostly bourbon'....something like that...

bourbon 'aficianado' sounds like high falutin' snobbery. and not bad when you go up against folks who speak only single maltese....:rolleyes:

mmetzger34
01-27-2009, 16:29
My friends refer to me as a bourbon aficionado . . . however that is just b/c I am from KY and know more than them (which isn't saying much) . . . among this SB group, I am clearly a "novice"

ILLfarmboy
01-27-2009, 16:49
no label here...i guess (self-reflexively!)...more like i say to folks if it comes up, 'i love whiskies, but mostly bourbon'....something like that...

That made me smile. :cool:

I usually say whiskey enthousiast..... mostly bourbon.

OldJack
01-27-2009, 17:00
A Texas boy with a Kentucky liver.

barturtle
01-27-2009, 17:04
Usually I refer to myself as "a prick"...:grin:

I find that it's better to just go ahead and explain what it is I do as a hobby...about an hour or so into it, the person who asked the question will know I am what I say I am.:slappin:

Blitz
01-27-2009, 17:04