PDA

View Full Version : A quick Pyrat question

MissingKY
02-14-2009, 13:32
Hi guys, I'm new to sipping rum neat, but I've found that I really enjoy the 375 ml bottle of Pyrat Pistol that I picked up last week. I've read in a lot of other threads that folks seem to really like the Pyrat XO, too, but I can't really tell how the Pistol stacks up versus the XO. Those of you who have tried both, what do you think? As I said, I very much enjoy the Pistol, but I think I could savor it a bit more if the orange flavors were a little more muted.

The reason I ask is that I keep seeing the 375s of Pistol at $10-11, while the 750s of the XO are a little over $20. At roughly the same price per ounce, which one would you learned rum drinkers jump on?

Cheers,
Ethan

T47
02-14-2009, 13:37
Hi guys, I'm new to sipping rum neat, but I've found that I really enjoy the 375 ml bottle of Pyrat Pistol that I picked up last week. I've read in a lot of other threads that folks seem to really like the Pyrat XO, too, but I can't really tell how the Pistol stacks up versus the XO. Those of you who have tried both, what do you think? As I said, I very much enjoy the Pistol, but I think I could savor it a bit more if the orange flavors were a little more muted.

The reason I ask is that I keep seeing the 375s of Pistol at $10-11, while the 750s of the XO are a little over $20. At roughly the same price per ounce, which one would you learned rum drinkers jump on?

Cheers,
Ethan

I have not tried the Pistol...but I can't imagine the orange flavor in the XO being muted compared to anything...it was the only flavor I could pick up in this bottle. I have not had enough Rum to speak with authority, but this tasted more like a liqueur to me...not what I expected at all.

MissingKY
02-14-2009, 13:42