PDA

View Full Version : New Guy Asks How Much A Week?

beer2bourbon
05-03-2009, 16:14
I've been enjoying bourbon for the past few years...got really hooked on it after visiting Woodford Reserve disillery a number of years ago. Just wondering how long a .75L bottle lasts most people...my bottles seem to develop holes in them and are drained in less than 2 weeks...maybe I should get a more "liver-friendly" hobby...I only have 1 bottle open at a time, so I don't skip from bottle to bottle...

I'm enjoying the posts so far (new subscriber, first post)...

Cheers!

ratcheer
05-03-2009, 16:29
Well, a 750 ml bottle is 15 50-ml drinks, which is slightly more than 1.5 oz, each. So, it sounds like you are having about one drink per day. While I'm pretty sure a doctor would not want to hear about you drinking that much, it wouldn't raise any alarms among this crowd. IMHO, if it is not causing you any physical or relationship problems, it is probably not excessive.

But, I am not a doctor. :blush:

Tim

independant
05-03-2009, 18:33
I drink from different bottles so not really sure but if I had to guess I would say. I have 2 drinks 4-5 times a week totaling maybe 3 ounces a day. So about a 750ml bottle every 2-3 weeks sounds right.

Joshua
05-04-2009, 00:08
From my understanding 1.5-3 ounces (1-2 "drinks") 4-5 days a week is at the top of the acceptable list. Coming from doctor friends, not my own ideas. Above 3 drinks is considered to be pushing it (even if its once a year, that's apparently some magical red flag).

It also depends on if you HAVE to have a drink, if it interferes with work/family, if its first thing in the morning, things like that.

Personally, I think if you are drinking a little bit to enjoy the drink and not to abuse the substance... 1-2 drinks 4-5 days a week is probably going to be ok... if you are sipping over a few hours anyways. If you wake up and take a shot or two to get the day started--- that's problematic.

Jono
05-04-2009, 07:39