PDA

View Full Version : New from Baton Rouge

tgaut
05-28-2009, 06:22
Great forum. I'm new to enjoying bourbon. I have tried the common lables(JB, Makers, etc...) but now beginning to try the bottles that I was previously blind to. I must say this is a new world. I have been reading for two days before posting here. My mind is spinning and I can't wait to go get a couple of new bottles. My wife recently bought me a bottle of Blanton's for our anniversary. Can't wait to try. I don't think my wife knows that I have a new hobby or what it's going to cost!!! Previously, I have thoroughly enjoyed Woodford Reserve.

Josh
05-28-2009, 06:39
Great forum. I'm new to enjoying bourbon. I have tried the common lables(JB, Makers, etc...) but now beginning to try the bottles that I was previously blind to. I must say this is a new world. I have been reading for two days before posting here. My mind is spinning and I can't wait to go get a couple of new bottles. My wife recently bought me a bottle of Blanton's for our anniversary. Can't wait to try. I don't think my wife knows that I have a new hobby or what it's going to cost!!! Previously, I have thoroughly enjoyed Woodford Reserve.

Welcome to the forum! One cool feature of the member profiles is that there is a section where members can reccommend their favorite whiskeys. If you're ever wondering what to try next, try exploring some of those.

I am all too familiar with the $$$ issues with the wife! We have an agreement of sorts. I don't complain about her buying clothes, and she doesn't complain about me buying whiskey. It works pretty well.

If you fall in love with Blanton's but you're still looking to save a little money, you might check out Elmer T. Lee. It's by the same distillery (Buffalo Trace), and has the same mashbill, and is also named after a former master distiller, but it is a good deal cheaper, with not a lot of difference in taste. In fact, I actually like Elmer T. Lee better.

Anyway, welcome to the journey!