PDA

View Full Version : Bourbons/Whiskeys with No Wheat in the Grain Bill



ODaniel
08-04-2009, 14:34
Does anyone know for sure of Bourbons or other Whiskeys that have absolutely no wheat in them? My sister can't have wheat, so to be safe she stays away from whiskey all together. Any help would be appreciated.

TNbourbon
08-04-2009, 14:40
There are only a few which DO have wheat: Maker's Mark, Old Fitzgerald, Rebel Yell, Van Winkles, Bernheim Original, W.L. Weller line, Cabin Still, David Nicholson are the current ones still available at retail. There are some old, defunct ones, and some special bottlings.
Otherwise, everything out there has rye and no wheat.

Josh
08-04-2009, 14:55
Does anyone know for sure of Bourbons or other Whiskeys that have absolutely no wheat in them? My sister can't have wheat, so to be safe she stays away from whiskey all together. Any help would be appreciated.

Better safe than sorry, of course, but the distilling process destroys any gluten or other things she might be allergic to in wheat or barley.

http://dr-eon.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=75:gluten-free-alcoholic-beverage-choices&catid=43:nutrition&Itemid=58

http://www.mamaherb.com/whisky.html
(see health section at the end)

I believe there are also threads on this topic.

Bourbon Geek
08-04-2009, 15:16
There is a web site www.celiac-sprue.com (http://www.celiac-sprue.com) that deals with sufferers of gluten intolerance. Several years back they ran an article that went as far as recommending Maker's Mark to their audience ...

It is true that protein, DNA, and gluten all do not make it through the fermentation and distillation processes. Even the European Union reviewed this issue and decided that no whiskeys need label for allergens related to gluten because the science proves it is not an issue.

ILLfarmboy
08-04-2009, 15:26
There is a web site www.celiac-sprue.com (http://www.celiac-sprue.com) that deals with sufferers of gluten intolerance. Several years back they ran an article that went as far as recommending Maker's Mark to their audience ...

It is true that protein, DNA, and gluten all do not make it through the fermentation and distillation processes. Even the European Union reviewed this issue and decided that no whiskeys need label for allergens related to gluten because the science proves it is not an issue.

My dog has a wheat allergy (gluten). I never realized how ubiquitous wheat, and wheat gluten as an additive, is until Duke began having issues with his skin.

ODaniel
08-04-2009, 18:45
Well that seems completely obvious now. I didn't even think about that. I'm so used to beer and it's process. Thanks for all the info and links.

PAspirit1
08-05-2009, 08:57
I think, but I'm not certain, that there is gluten in wheat, barley and rye which would eliminate almost all whiskey. But I heard also that distillation eliminates the gluten. However, I believe that people who are strictly trying to eliminate all gluten from their diet have to watch out for any scotch that adds caramel because some caramel has gluten and some doesn't.

ODaniel
08-05-2009, 14:57
Yea from what I've read as long as it's a pure spirit, as in nothing else is added after distillation, then there will be no allergens in it. She's had some digestive problems, and she starting taking gluten out of her diet which helped. She finally got tested and she doesn't appear to have an intolerance so she has been bringing gluten back into her diet, however, for some reason wheat still makes her feel bad. You're right, gluten is in wheat, barley, and rye. I brewed a flavorful gluten free beer for her using sorghum, buckwheat, and amaranth.

PAspirit1
08-05-2009, 18:15
Yea from what I've read as long as it's a pure spirit, as in nothing else is added after distillation, then there will be no allergens in it. She's had some digestive problems, and she starting taking gluten out of her diet which helped. She finally got tested and she doesn't appear to have an intolerance so she has been bringing gluten back into her diet, however, for some reason wheat still makes her feel bad. You're right, gluten is in wheat, barley, and rye. I brewed a flavorful gluten free beer for her using sorghum, buckwheat, and amaranth.

A couple of years ago I was tested for gluten intolerance and thankfully I tested negative. Living gluten free is a tough road - no beer, no pizza, no sandwiches etc. It was a likely a factor for me becoming a whiskey drinker.