PDA

View Full Version : New from AZ

shortroundness
11-27-2009, 18:01
Hi everyone,

There is a lot of great information here and I've enjoyed reading through a lot of posts.

I'm a complete noob to bourbon and recently enjoyed a Jack and coke. While I'm still mainly a mixer I also have a couple of sips straight with each bottle I try.

So I've dropped JD as now I can't believe how much it costs compared to alternatives. I realize it's a whiskey and shouldn't be compared to straight bourbon but it is what brought me here to begin with.

I'd like to find a bottom shelf bourbon for mixing and maybe breaking me into the sipping game. I'm not good at describing any 'notes' or flavors but I can tell you what I've tried and what I've liked. Maybe someone can recommend another one to try.

JD ($15.99 / 750ml)
Mixer = good
Sipper = Horrible

Early Times ($7.99 / liter)
Mixer = ok
Sipper = ok

Evan Williams 1783 ($8.99 / liter) My favorite so far!
Mixer = Great
Sipper = Good

I also grabbed an Old Grand Dad 50ml with an orange label to try. I didn't care for it. Can't really describe it but it seemed a little 'thin' maybe? Then I tried a 50ml of the regular JB and it reminded me of Early Times. It's just ok. I won't buy it again.

Maybe someone can enlighten as to what is different about Evan Williams than the others. If I can pin down what it is about EW than I might jump to the next level and find mid shelfer in this style.

There are some others that I may try like Ezra Brooks, Old Crow, Old Forester and Ten High.

Thanks in advance!

spun_cookie
11-27-2009, 19:24
Brotha are you in luck. The bourbon world awaits ... I would say grab a handle of Weller Special Reserve. It will bump up to your top and then you should grab an Old Weller Antique.

Where do you live in AZ. I am just east of Tucson.

shortroundness
11-27-2009, 19:53