PDA

View Full Version : Scotch Drinker learning about bourbon

Chu'Wuti
01-03-2010, 08:03
Hi everyone! My son introduced me to this site--knowing I could hardly resist the temptation! I'm primarily a single malt Scotch person, especially loving the smoky whiskeys, but my son keeps bringing me interesting bourbons to taste, so I guess both my palate and my collection are expanding. I figure that y'all can help me learn enough to keep up with my son!

Chu'Wuti (Snake Woman in Hopi)

"Always carry a large flagon of whiskey in case of snakebite, and furthermore always carry a small snake." W. C. Fields

I have the snake--two of them, actually--and the whiskey, so I'm all set! :lol:

OscarV
01-03-2010, 08:17
There's a lot of knoweldge here so welcome aboard.
I've been checking in here for a few years now and I'm still learning.
Bourbon, Scotch, Irish, Rye, wine and beer are discussed.
I would suggest you look over these two threads in the "Bourbon Discussion" section,
the "Straight Bourbon Of The Month" and "Premium Bourbons/Specialty Bottlings" are loaded with info.
Feel free to ask questions.

silverfish
01-03-2010, 08:21
Hi Snake Woman - welcome to the forum!

We do have a Foreign Whiskey (http://www.straightbourbon.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=22) section if you like to have a
look and see if any of your favorites have been discussed.

deaconbones
01-03-2010, 09:03
I am finding the best way to learn more about bourbon is to drink more bourbon.

OscarV
01-03-2010, 09:43
I am finding the best way to learn more about bourbon is to drink more bourbon.

Yep, good point. Like they say, "live and learn."

fishnbowljoe
01-03-2010, 10:25
Welcome to SB Sandy. Some of the other members have given you some good threads to check out. Another one I would recommend is, http://www.straightbourbon.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8142 Affordable bourbons and ryes for beginners. Hope this helps gets you started in a good way. Cheers! Joe

spun_cookie
01-03-2010, 10:28