PDA

View Full Version : Noob from Richmond, CA

raiderx
02-01-2010, 15:42
Hi folks,

I'm pretty new to the bourbon scene, but I've been scouring the threads here and hope to expand my knowledge quickly. So far my liquor cabinet contains Knob Creek, Bulleit, Maker's Mark, and Old Forester Signature 100. All good in their different ways, but I'd count the Old Forester as my current favorite.

After spending $25+ for my first few bottles of bourbon, I've decided to check out all the recommended brands that are under $20. I'm using these two threads as my primary guide for now.

http://www.straightbourbon.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12990
http://www.straightbourbon.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8142

Anyway, I'm glad to be here and I'm hoping to soak up some knowledge.

fishnbowljoe
02-01-2010, 19:36
Welcome to the site. Looks like you have some decent bourbons to start with. It also appears that you've done a little homework too. :grin: Nice job. Keep watching and reading. Lot and lots of info to be found here. Official chats are Thursday and Sunday nights, but you never know when folks might show up. It's been almost every night as of late. Looking forward to your posts. Cheers and enjoy. Joe

p_elliott
02-02-2010, 09:04
Welcome to the site, there is a lot to learn here. Looks like you've started out well that bulleit will open up as it breathes. Joe is right about Chat stop in and join us some time. Post often, ask questions, give us your opinions, make some new friends and just have fun.

raiderx
02-02-2010, 20:44
Thanks for the welcome. I forgot about the last bit of a bottle of Gentleman Jack I had sitting in my cabinet. I poured it tonight to make some room for something new to be determined.

I think I've ruined myself for the Tennessee product. It seemed almost watered down compared to the Old Forester. I could taste the banana and the brown sugar, but it also had a very sharp rubbing alcohol bite to it that I just couldn't get over.