PDA

View Full Version : A little control state venting...

Halifax
06-14-2010, 14:17
So I'm a relative bourbon noob. About one year into my journey of rocks/neat consumption. Thru recommendations and searching here @ SB.com I have found some really good bourbons and whiskies that I enjoy. Problem is that most of them are being dropped by the comrades over at the state ran ABC.

Late last night I was reading a post in the rye section. Decided I would have a pour of baby Saz. Anyway, look around the whiskey cabinet and only find 1 bottle with a couple of pours left. I thought I had a couple of more bottles bunkered, but I must have been overindulging. :bigeyes: :cool: Well the last two pours were wonderful as usual.

Fast forward to today. Stop by the local store to pick up a few for the bunker. Told sorry we're sold out. Sazerac has been discontinued. Well if that ain't a bite in the rear. :hot:

So over the last few months the ABC has discontinued some of my favorite pours. ETL, Weller SR, Berheim Wheat, and now baby Saz. We've got plenty of Red Stag tho'. :rolleyes:

SMOWK
06-14-2010, 14:44
Think of it as a blessing in disguise. A reason for an out-of-state hunting trip.

Res/st-or
06-14-2010, 16:21
I have wanted to try the Berheim Wheat myself for quite awhile now. Picked one up and set it back down just last night like I have on many occasions in the past, and it was on sale... Looks like I better grab one before they disappear. It was the last one they had.

Halifax
06-14-2010, 17:13
Think of it as a blessing in disguise. A reason for an out-of-state hunting trip.

Looks like another trip will be in the works soon. Just found out that not only did the state ABC drop baby Saz they also took it off the special order list completely.

B1bomber
06-14-2010, 18:33
As much as there is to hate in NJ, for bourbon consumption and dusty hunting it's pretty tough to beat. My condolences to all the control state people. (But at least you don't have NJ taxes!)

ggilbertva