PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here-- need suggestions for a gift!!

socal
06-30-2010, 11:02
Hello,
I hope someone here can assist me. I have to purchase a gift for a Bourbon lover. The recipient of this gift is a 60 year old man originally from Kentucky. I know he loves bourbon and he likes the "good" stuff and he can afford it. So if I get him a bottle it has to be something impressive or unique.

Do any of you have any suggestions about a type of bourbon I can perhaps get online. I don't think he goes online, but shops at local stores. If there is something unique out there that is not readily available in stores and under $200 I'd love to hear about it. Thanks for your help. I'm new to the world of bourbon, so any advice would be appreciated.
Socal

CorvallisCracker
06-30-2010, 11:48
If "socal" means southern California then there should be no legal obstacles preventing you from ordering from K&L (http://www.klwines.com).

Any of these would probably do:

Four Roses Mariage Collection Bourbon $84.99
Parker's Heritage Collection Second Edition 27 year Bourbon $199.99
Parker's Heritage Collection Golden Annivesary Bourbon $139.99
1991 Jefferson's Reserve Presidential Select 18 Year Old Single Barrel "K&L Exclusive" 17 year Batch A Bourbon $89.99

If it were me (as the receipient, that is) I'd probably be happiest with the first one...which also happens to be the least expensive (but then, I'm a cheap date).

StraightBoston
06-30-2010, 11:57
Scott's suggestions are excellent -- the only addition I'd make is:

Pappy Van Winkle 20 Year Old $99-109

CorvallisCracker
06-30-2010, 12:05
Pappy Van Winkle 20 Year Old $99-109

Not currently listed at K&L (although it has been in the past), but, yeah, if you can find that one it would be a great choice too.

I note that K&L is listing a "new release" of BMH 16yo, for $125.99 :rolleyes:

gblick
06-30-2010, 13:59
Wild Turkey Tradition would also be a good gift IMO.

fishnbowljoe
06-30-2010, 15:17