PDA

View Full Version : Noob from New Mexico!!!

blopez50
07-24-2010, 11:33
Hello all!

It looks like you guys have a great site and Im glad to be a part of it. As a big time cigar smoker (a lot of collecting as well), Im glad to see that many of you are BOTLs as well!

I am fairly new to bourbon and have only tried 7 different bottles to this point. Its very hard to find many of the bottles that you guys talk about on here so Ill probably be doing some internet shopping!

:drink:
Brian

Bourbon Boiler
07-24-2010, 18:16
Welcome aboard. I'm fairly new myself, and have found nothing but friendly people and good advice from this community.

I wouldn't worry about trying to find the most oft discussed bottles right away. Get a feel for waht you like, and then use the discussions to guide you into what rare/higher cost offerings are more likely taylored to your taste. Just my $.02.

Off topic, but being in the Albuquerque area, have you by chance been to the Unser racing museum? If I'm in the area and an open wheel racing fan (but not particularly a follower of any of the Unsers), do you think it's worth a visit?

blopez50
07-24-2010, 18:26
Thanks for the advice man!

I have not made it over there, drove by it a few times but never stopped. To be honest I'm not a real big racing fan...

Are you in the area very often?

mrviognier
07-25-2010, 09:14
Welcome to the site! I assume you've been to Quarters, Kelly's and Jubilation? If you find yourself around the Santa Fe area, Kokoman may be worth a stop.

Used to spend a lot of time selling wine in ABQ. Really enjoyed Ambrozia, Artichoke Cafe and Gruet Steakhouse.

fishnbowljoe
07-25-2010, 16:27
Welcome to the site Brian. There is a thread in this forum titled "Affordable Bourbons and Ryes For Beginners", that you might find helpful. I'll bump up another one with some helpful hints that you may find useful too. Hope you enjoy yourself here. Cheers! Joe

Bourbon Boiler
07-25-2010, 17:22
Thanks for the advice man!