PDA

View Full Version : A noob's first dusty?

b33k4y
09-28-2010, 20:42
Hi all,

Been reading and learning a lot from this forum, in conjunction with Bourbon Enthusiast forums, Chuck Cowdery's blog, as well as Bourbon Dork's blog. Fantastic community here!

As a noob, I went on my first dusty mission today and think I found something special? Liter of Old Fitz 80 proof. I don't really know, I just trusted my gut because it looked old and I had never seen a bottle of it in a store before. I'm just learning to identify bourbons by the markings on the actual bottle, and I think this one is from 1985, but I really don't know for sure. Some input would be appreciated!

It sure is tasty, though.

EDIT - probably should have mentioned the bottle has a gov. warning about alcohol slapped on the back. Pre-1989?

Thanks,
Ben

Joshua
09-28-2010, 21:17
Early 80s I believe! It's big bib brother is a better pour, but I think the Prime is pretty great on it's own right. Try mixing it 1-1 with WLW 08 or 09. Or even 1-1 with Weller Antique. I think that adding a higher proof wheater to it can work really well.

Someone in the chat told me that, and for the life of me I can't remember who that genius was.

tommyboy38
09-28-2010, 21:49
The gov't warning usually means it's post 89. I have a variety of dusty Old Fitz Prime....maybe I can see what year they first used it.

sgtgto
09-29-2010, 00:09
The gov't warning usually means it's post 89. I have a variety of dusty Old Fitz Prime....maybe I can see what year they first used it.

But the non-TE cap is a dead giveaway for mid-early 80s. I am curious to know what the bottom of the bottle says.

Either way, great find, and a wonderful first find. It is DSP-16 juice for sure.

Special Reserve
09-29-2010, 03:40
Welcome to SB.

Nice find and first post. Does it have a UPC code? If it does what is it?

Will

b33k4y
09-29-2010, 05:31
Here are two more pics of the back and bottom. Sorry, hard to get a good clear shot of the bottom.