PDA

View Full Version : Where to go next?

soad
11-11-2010, 10:23
Hello all, I'm pretty new to being a true bourbon drinker (I don't count the years of Beam shots at college bars :rolleyes: ). My tastes are rather simple at this point. I really enjoy Makers and Knob Creek, and I have tried and enjoyed Buffalo Trace and Old Grand-Dad 86. I have tried and not really liked Woodford and Evan Williams Black Label.

My two questions would be, I guess right now my favorite is Makers, what Bourbon could I try that would be similar (wheat/rye %) but would be a "step up". Second, I really want to try a high proof bottle just to see the difference between that and the Knob Creek (the highest proof I have tried), I was thinking Bookers? Any ideas?

Thanks a lot!!!!

hectic1
11-11-2010, 11:14
Hello all, I'm pretty new to being a true bourbon drinker (I don't count the years of Beam shots at college bars :rolleyes: ). My tastes are rather simple at this point. I really enjoy Makers and Knob Creek, and I have tried and enjoyed Buffalo Trace and Old Grand-Dad 86. I have tried and not really liked Woodford and Evan Williams Black Label.

My two questions would be, I guess right now my favorite is Makers, what Bourbon could I try that would be similar (wheat/rye %) but would be a "step up". Second, I really want to try a high proof bottle just to see the difference between that and the Knob Creek (the highest proof I have tried), I was thinking Bookers? Any ideas?

Thanks a lot!!!! If you're looking for something with a bit higher proof you could go with Old Weller Antique for a wheater and OGD 114 for a rye based bourbon...both of those are a step up IMO from what you've been drinking! Enjoy the journey! :cool:

silverfish
11-11-2010, 11:19
My two questions would be, I guess right now my favorite is Makers, what Bourbon could I try that would be similar (wheat/rye %) but would be a "step up".

I guess the obvious answer would be Maker's 46 (94 proof).