PDA

View Full Version : New Member from Buffalo

gent2590
03-14-2011, 10:44
Hey all! Like many new members, I've been reading a lot on this site and learned a lot. I'm 22 and my brother-in-law first got me into good (well, from my limited experience, what I consider "good") bourbon with knob creek. Of course, when he gave me a pour for the first time, I ignorantly walked over to the fridge for some Coke and he slapped me in the face. Since then, I have enjoyed others such as Elijah Craig 12y and Buffalo Trace. I've also suffered through some $8 bottles, but I AM a college student so I found a way to consume it. I typically drink EC or KC neat, w/ an ice cube or two, or a few drops of water. I wanted to experiment with these ways of drinking it just to see how the notes change or what I enjoy most.

Just wanted to give some background. ANYWAYS enough of that rambling.

I was thinking it's time to purchase another bottle. I want to stay under $50. Here are some considerations, Let me know what you think!

Willet Single Barrel
Jeffersons very small batch
Makers 46 (Makers Mark was OK, nothing special)
Blantons
Basil Hayden
Eagle Rare
1792 Ridgemont Reserve
Old Forester Birthday Bourbon
Bakers
Elmer T. Lee

Brisko
03-14-2011, 11:28
Welcome!

I guess I would avoid Basil Hayden's, you might try Old Granddad, either the Bottled in Bond or the 114 proof version if you can find it. I prefer the 114 myself.
Otherwise you can't really do wrong by that list.

dbk
03-14-2011, 14:38
From one relative SB noob to another, welcome aboard!

I was thinking it's time to purchase another bottle. I want to stay under $50. Here are some considerations, Let me know what you think!

Willet Single Barrel
Jeffersons very small batch
Makers 46 (Makers Mark was OK, nothing special)
Blantons
Basil Hayden
Eagle Rare
1792 Ridgemont Reserve
Old Forester Birthday Bourbon
Bakers
Elmer T. Lee