PDA

View Full Version : New from St. Lou

STLbourbon
09-18-2011, 09:10
I'm fairly new to bourbon and have been on a pretty voracious tasting exploration for the past few months. I've been finding what I do and don't like. Like many, my entry was thru Makers Mark, and I already had a taste for single malt scotches. I found Makers to be an easy drink, but not all that interesting. Then a freind stepped it up a notch for me with Knob Creek. I really enjoyed that, but it's been months since I've tasted it. Now I've tried a handful based on various recommendations and here's where I'm at for the moment.

TOP Favorites:

Four Roses Single Barrel (probably my current #1 all around - best nose and complexity)
Elmer T. Lee (nearly perfect for my tastes )
Old Weller Antique (discovered I like wheaters - amazing nose - VERY tasty - add drops of water)
Buffalo Trace (local store has special barrel pick, a tad oakier than normal - neat only - our house staple)
Blanton's - (tried one rocks glass at a bar, shoulda been neat - very, very good as I recall)
Bakers - (tried one rocks glass - also very good all around)

Quite Likeable:

Elijah Craig 12 (nice taste and balance, a bit heavy on the oak or char, but ok)
Wild Turkey 101 (quite surprised to find how good it really is - good neat or rocks)
Evan Williams Single barrel (it went pretty fast, really pretty good as I remember)
Knob Creek (from what I remember, it was nice)
Basil Hayden's (tried one neat glass in a bar, yummy like candy - a bit too easy to drink)

Tried but don't really care for:

Woodford Reserve (I know people like it, but it just misses the mark for me - not happenin')
Rittenhouse Rye 100 (just had too much weird funk, pickled, sharp flavors)
George Dickel #12 (not a "bourbon" - missing something - kind of orangy - wrong flavor set)