PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from the BourbonBaron in Indianapolis

BourbonBaron
12-21-2011, 09:04
Hello everyone,

I've been on this site for a few months and figured I should go ahead and join in the discussions. I've learned a lot from you all and I think this is a great forum.

I've been drinking bourbon for a few years now, but back in October I had the pleasure of visiting seven of the distilleries (did the Bourbon Trail and threw in Buffalo Trace in two days) in Kentucky. That trip has led to a new found obsession (which may or may not be healthy) with any and all things bourbon related. I am really enjoying learning about the history and heritage of the many products out there, and I really have been branching out lately. Up until the trip I didnít really know much about the actual distillation process, let alone the mashbills and yeasts the different producers use. I am a homebrewer so I was somewhat familiar with the base process, but I didnít even realize the distillers make beer before they turn it into bourbon, so clearly I had (and still have) a lot to learn.

I am finding that I really enjoy the wheaters. OWA and WSR are my go to pours right now. Makerís is just okay. Iíve been searching for the Weller 12 but that is nowhere to be found up here, so Iíll likely have to order online. I also have a Knob Creek Single Barrel that I just opened up this week and I am a big fan of that one as well. Since I like the wheaters so much, I assumed I would not be into the ryes. After trying the Sazerac 18 the other day at a bar, I found that I was indeed wrong on that one. More things to try is a good thing! I didnít get a chance to pick one up, unfortunately. I am considering getting a Handy as some of them are still floating around, but I know the general consensus is that the Saz 18 is the better buy.