PDA

View Full Version : Semi-Noob from Northern, IN

Befallen_Soul87
01-18-2012, 20:18
Greetings from Northern Indiana,

I'm fairly new to the Bourbon world. Have been sampling what I can over the last few years. A few of the ones I have tasted thus far has been:

Ridgemont Reserve 1792 (My current favorite.)
Woodford Reserve
Knob Creek
Baker's 107
Booker's
Baisil Hayden's
Jim Beam (White, Black, Green and Devil's Cut)
Evan William's 1783 (Which, I personally enjoy for it's price.)

Hopefully the fine, educated folks here can throw some suggestions out there for future pours.

Cheers,
Darren

Restaurant man
01-18-2012, 20:41
Cool. Don't be afraid to try some " bottom shelfer's" for the price of some of those u can pick up an old grand dad bob or weller sr. If ur lucky find an actual weller 7.

Bourbon Boiler
01-19-2012, 17:39
That's a pretty good starting list. Bulleit might be worth a try for you, as well as the 4R yellow. Where in the snowy half of Indiana are you if you don't mind me asking?

Befallen_Soul87
01-20-2012, 09:11
Thanks for the welcome and suggestions guys. I've actually been wanting to taste Four Roses and Buillet for some time now. Along with some of the Wild Turkey offerings (Rare Breed, Kentucky Sprit).

Bourbon Boiler. I'm located in the Warsaw area. How about yourself? Enjoying this wonderful weather we are having? (Inject final sentence with loads of sarcasm.)

Billy Bourbon
01-20-2012, 16:00
Greetings fellow Hoosier. A couple more you might want to try would be Very Old Barton BIB along with Old Overholt Straight Rye whiskey. I've not got me a bottle of Rittenhouse Rye BIB yet but hopefully will here soon. One thing that happened to me after drinking some of the Old Overholt Rye was really being able to notice the rye flavor, and now I can pick the flavor up better on some other bourbons I've been drinking. It helped to better define the rye flavor.

Looking forward to hearin from you.

smokinjoe
01-20-2012, 16:12