PDA

View Full Version : Bourbon Making Advice

MOUNTBALDY
05-25-2012, 15:09
Hi all,

I'm new to StraightBourbon.com. I am in the process of assisting a friend opening up a distillery here in Montana. He will be producing rum and bourbon. The rum we have perfected very nicely. The bourbon needs work. Our latest test batch has a grain bill was too high on the malt. It had a very Scotch like flavor. The newest test batch will be more like the grain bill Basil Hayden uses. I have some experience tasting many fine single barreled vintage bourbons but am seeking advice as to what folks prefer.

What do you prefer?
Does price dictate quality?
What makes that bourbon special? (Is it a specific wood that it's aged in? Is it made with more rye or wheat than the other? Why do you like it?)

Any advice is greatly appreciated. We are hoping to open the doors up in another 6 - 12 months. Once it's a go, I'll certainly let folks know.

Cheers,

Joseph Gill

sutton
05-25-2012, 16:02
Well ... you're in for quite a bit of advice, I'd think :grin: - not sure how it is going to converge! Taste preferences are as varied as bourbons on the market ...

Whatever you decide to do, for me, the best bourbons (or any spirit) stay balanced, so nothing sticks out. There are many styles that will fit different circumstances/moods, etc. Are you targeting a particular market segment (premium/specialty, everyday bourbon, both?)

Phil T
05-25-2012, 16:32
Hi Joseph, and welcome to the site. I'm sorry if you find this a bit rude, but it is what it is. There is a ton of info available here, about every question that you asked. The search function is your friend. If you and your friend are serious about a quality bourbon, spend the time researching this site from top to bottom, don't take the easy way out, which I think you are doing by your post...

ILLfarmboy
05-25-2012, 17:51
The best advice dosn't center around taste profiles and mashbills.

Low proof off the still

low barrel entry proof