PDA

View Full Version : Why is Bourbon getting worse?

Jackinbox
05-20-2013, 21:24
As a newbie, I notice a lot of posts that allude to the fact that many bourbon brands were better decades ago. Just a few examples that come to mind are:

- OGD bottled by ND is better
- Make sure you get the PVW with the SW juice
- Jim Beam White Label was better in the 70s

What's causing this? Are they changing the formulas? Aging less? Cutting corners in distillation?

tigerlam92
05-20-2013, 22:14
There is a huge amount of discussion on this before and something I constantly think about as well.

I think a big part is best described by Pappy's statement in this image where no business now a days would even consider.

Cheers
Hugh

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/05/21/asyzesa9.jpg

HighInTheMtns
05-20-2013, 22:26
-Barrel proof, extra-aged whiskey is a thing that can be purchased these days, even if it's not on every shelf.

-Specially selected single barrels are widely available.

-Distillers are adding new expressions, experimenting with new production techniques like barrel finishes, etc, etc, etc...

Why is bourbon getting better?

....anyways, just saying, don't be so quick to be a pessimist.

Max Power
05-20-2013, 22:41
As a newbie, I notice a lot of posts that allude to the fact that many bourbon brands were better decades ago. Just a few examples that come to mind are:

What's causing this? Are they changing the formulas? Aging less? Cutting corners in distillation?