PDA

View Full Version : Cask/Barrel Strength vs. Reg Bourbon

Don_Draper
05-23-2013, 09:35
I am fairly new to the bourbon world, but I am wondering if this has happened to anyone. I had some bourbon that I really, really liked. Then I started drinking some barrel proof bourbon like George T. Stagg and Col E H Taylor barrel proof. Now that I go back to regular bourbon it all tastes watery to me, and I can only drink barrel proof. I hate it because I bought some Blanton's Single Barrel that I used to love and now it tastes so boring to me...ugh.

darylld911
05-23-2013, 09:49
While I am definitely a fan of barrel proof, I haven't had that issue. If I drank GTS or ECBP every day for some extended period of time, I suppose I could get spoiled - so I avoid that.

393foureyedfox
05-23-2013, 10:41
Im fairly new to bourbon and alcohol in general as well....less than a year. I immediately decided 80 proofers were not what i liked, and settled into the 100 proofers and BIB stuff. Then a had a shot of Booker's.....

at the prices of cask strength stuff, they wont be everyday drinks for me, but i do prefer them. $50 a bottle for Booker's, I cant handle the thought. But, there are some cheaper (read; less expensive) ones out there that seem to have similat kicks and not be over $40. Knob Creek 120 proof is about $37 here and almost as good. A lot of people love the OGD 114, Im feeling mixed on it (open the bottle and take a first drink and its not too good, let it sit a bit and its pretty good), and its $21 here.

So, enjoying the full strength stuff hasnt ruined "regular" bourbons to me, they were already ruined. but i do imagine, if you were a long time drinker of 80 proofers, then got caught up in barrel proofers, youd not be able to go back to 80 proofers. Just out of curiousity, at the bar a few weeks ago, I tried some MM (strangely, never had any), just to see why its so popular. tasted like someone made a 50-50 mix of bourbon and water to me.