PDA

View Full Version : George Dickel

Exdimmerjock
11-05-2006, 20:13
I have been drinking bourbon for about 40 years. Got turned on to it in the 60's when I was going through flight school in Pensacola.
I keep several of bottles open and don't think the super premiums are $30 dollars a bottle better than WT101. What I do miss is that ol' SW Rebel Yell. Even when I was 23 years old I knew that was some very good shit. So did Keith Richards, my hero.
Anyway, to get to my point. Regardless of price, my favorite is WT101 which I can buy for 14 bucks (750ml) every 3 weeks on sale at Rite Aid. I would gladly pay at least $20 for it, and will probably have to when I move to Colorado next year.
But here is my thing, and I feel like a bastard at a family picnic. When it comes to a 90 proof pour, I like George Dickel. I drink my whiskey over the rocks. I like Manhattans but I use MM for that, still over the rocks. Cocktail hour doesn't last long enough drinking "up". What do you all think of George Dickel #12? Thanks, Ricardo

TimmyBoston
11-05-2006, 20:17
Personally, I'm not a huge fan, though I do tend to like Dickel products over Jack Daniels. But if you enjoy it, there is no shame in drinking it.

Also an administrator may move this thread to the "Other American Whiskey Forum" As I don't believe Dickel is bourbon, but that is not my decision. :cool:

Ricardo, if you like it, drink it. Don't worry about what other's are thinking. It's your choice of what you drink. Nothing wrong with what you choose.

TNbourbon
11-05-2006, 20:21
Look around the Other American Whiskey thread, and you'll find much positive comment about the Dickel #12. I think the consensus is that it is our favorite Tennessee whisk(e)y.
That said, please keep in mind this is a bourbon forum, and Dickel (and JD) isn't bourbon, so neither will be the main course at our 'family picnics'.

FlashPuppy
11-05-2006, 20:21