PDA

View Full Version : "Old" Old Forrester 100?

Tired Tech
02-21-2007, 20:49
I'm relatively new to bourbon and certainly to this forum, and don't have any deep knowledge of bourbon history. But I remember reading somewhere that Old Forrester 100 Proof had changed quite a bit at some point, perhaps was sold, moved to a different distillery or whatever. I used to very much enjoy it several years ago, but find the current version less satisfying. The bottle and label are certainly different from the ones I remember from years back. Does anyone know what the full story on it is, and especially whether or not any bottles of the older version can be found anywhere?

TNbourbon
02-21-2007, 21:05
I'm relatively new to bourbon and certainly to this forum, and don't have any deep knowledge of bourbon history. But I remember reading somewhere that Old Forrester 100 Proof had changed quite a bit at some point, perhaps was sold, moved to a different distillery or whatever. I used to very much enjoy it several years ago, but find the current version less satisfying. The bottle and label are certainly different from the ones I remember from years back. Does anyone know what the full story on it is, and especially whether or not any bottles of the older version can be found anywhere?

Old Forester still is and has been distilled and bottled by Brown-Forman, but this particular whiskey has gone from Bottled In Bond (BIB), to simply 100 proof, and now 'Signature' within about a 5-year time span.
Yes, older BIB bottles do turn up as a result of those compressed changes -- I'm especially fond of the dimpled-sided ones which lasted till the mid-'90s. I have several and hope of find several more before these are gone.

cowdery
02-23-2007, 03:51