PDA

View Full Version : Which Bourbon to Choose after 18 Months?

gnovo3241
03-18-2007, 12:08
Hi All, I'm New to Straightbourbon and here's my burning question.

I've been without even a taste of bourbon for the last 18 months as I've been on a very strict low calorie diet which unfortunately had no room in it for bourbon. The good news is I've been successful in loosing a barrel of weight and now I'm ready to start tasting bourbon again at least on two days a week.

Here are the bourbon's I've stockpiled over the last months and I'd like everyone's opinion on which one they would choose as their first drink again after such a long layoff and their rationale for the choice.

Evan Williams Single Barrel Vintage 1996
Evan Williams 1783 10 y/o
Wild Turkey BIB 101
Wild Turkey Rare Breed
Wild Turkey Kentucky Spirit
Wellers Antique 107
Old Grandad 114
Bakers
Woodford Reserve

I know its a limited selection but what would be your first taste if you hadn't had a taste in 18 months?

Greg

bluesbassdad
03-18-2007, 12:20
Greg,

Congratulations on the weight loss. If only I . . . Never mind.

I'm surprised at your question. I would expect you to have a hankering for whatever you considered your favorite. In your place, I expect my hankering would be for Kentucky Spirit or Rare Breed.

BTW, I don't recall seeing the "BIB" apellation attached to any Wild Turkey product. Is that an export-only bottling?

Yours truly,
Dave Morefield

OscarV
03-18-2007, 12:31
I know its a limited selection but what would be your first taste if you hadn't had a taste in 18 months?

Greg

Not at all, I think you stocked a very good variety.
Man, 18 months, well after that long I would pick up a big bag of ice and a big water tumbler and get with that Wild Turkey 101 and the Evan William 1783.
Then the next night do some tasting, have a Weller's Antique 107 neat, followed by a Wild Turkey Kentucky Spirit, also neat, the diffference works so well together.

gothbat
03-18-2007, 15:04