PDA

View Full Version : New! Looking for some help!

DaniShafer
03-20-2007, 10:29
Hello everyone! My name is Danielle and I'm a writer (or trying to be one!). I'm currently working on a novel and I was hoping you burbon experts could help me out!

One of my main characters is a bourbon drinker. He's wealthy, cultured and likes only the finest things.

So...

What kind of Burbon would he drink?:

At home in his personal study?

At an upscale club?

I'd really appreciate all of the help anyone of you could give me! I'm clueless when it comes to expensive liquor, but I hear that burbon is the best!

Also could anyone explain to me the taste of a fine burbon. Is it sweet? bitter? Smooth like silk? Some liquors that I've had have a nasty bite... is the rule of thumb the better the liquor and age, the less the bite?

Sorry for all of the questions! You can respond here, or at my email: DaniMarieShafer@aol.com (DaniMarieShafer@aol.com)

Thank you so much!

Danielle :grin:

Gillman
03-20-2007, 10:49
Fine bourbon is not related to price or image (necessarily). If this person is someone who thinks for himself and knows what's really good, have him drink Old Forester 100 proof and, for a change, Elijah Craig 12 year old. The Elijah Craig is made by America's remaining independent family owned bourbon distillery which has existed since the 1930's, so if he seeks out things with pedigree, he's got it. The Old Forester is stylish whiskey: mellow, fruity, a little smokey but all whiskey.

Okay since he's a connoisseur, here's a third choice for him (it would be out of character for him to drink the same things all the time): Old Rip Van Winkle 20 year old bourbon. It is hard to find, but a man with his resources should have little difficulty.