PDA

View Full Version : Greetings!

zdevin
04-11-2007, 13:26
I've been watching this site for awhile and just recently created an account. I've been drinking Bourbon for about 2 years. I got hooked after trying my first bourbon, George T. Stagg (Fall '05), straight. I'm still looking for my next pour that will be as good as the GTS.

mythrenegade
04-11-2007, 22:25
Welcome!

I am not familiar with that particular bourbon, but if you want to try a very complex bourbon that's not too expensive, go for a bottle of Elijah Craig 18yo.

Joel

whiskeyhatch
04-12-2007, 01:26
I've been watching this site for awhile and just recently created an account. I've been drinking Bourbon for about 2 years. I got hooked after trying my first bourbon, George T. Stagg (Fall '05), straight. I'm still looking for my next pour that will be as good as the GTS.

Welcome Devin! I have a very limited exposure to GTS but it has quickly found its way among my favorites. Maybe you'll find something as good or better, maybe you won't. But hey, it'll be fun looking, right! BTW, I just bought a bottle of GTS. I figure it's an '06 but I don't know for sure. Do you know how one can tell what year it is?

HighTower
04-12-2007, 03:01
you can tell by the proof....the 2006 is 140.6 proof.

Scott

ggilbertva
04-12-2007, 09:03
If not for the dozen or so other bourbon purchases I've made over the last week, I would have picked up the two lonely bottles of GTS hazmat sitting on the shelf of my local ABC. I stood there for a couple minutes contemplating but then walked out. I told the store clerk I couldn't believe they were still sitting on the shelf and he stated that nobody wants to buy them. :bigeyes:

The store is in an area where I believe the local population are not going for premium bourbons but the typical JB White, Jack, Turkey 80, etc.

I'll have to wait until my pocket book (and my wife) can stand another purchase. :banghead:

TNbourbon
04-12-2007, 09:26