PDA

View Full Version : Cut with what and how much?

blux
05-07-2007, 10:49
Hello all,
I am a newbie to this site and to bourbon. I have been drinking my bourbon neat but have heard about the different tasts and aromas that are released with the addition of water. Ok, I'd like to try that but, what kind of water and how much. What brand of water do you prefer, is it distilled, ionized, de-ionized, creek, tap, spring, sparkling... what?

The second question being how much? I realize that this is probably a balancing act that is personal but I would like a starting point if at all possible.

My small stock includes:
Makers Mark - This is the first bourbon that I tried.
Blanton's - Really like this
Ridgemont Reserve 1792.
G. T. Stagg - Purchased today.

I have also tried:
Knob Creek
Woodford Reserve
I liked both of these.

Thanks for the help and it is great to be here. I have learned quite a bit by reading many of these posts. There is an unbelievable wealth of knowledge here.
Barron.

ILLfarmboy
05-07-2007, 11:33
welcome, Blux

In my opinion reverse osmoses is the best. But really any water that is free of Iron, sufficiently soft and characterless will work. If you would use it for coffee/tea I wouldn't hesitate to add it to your whiskey.

What year is the Stagg (you can tell by the proof) by cross referencing it with what has been posted on this sight. Just do a little search. Let us know what you think.

blux
05-07-2007, 11:52
The Stagg is the '06 version. I did see the thread about the proof of the year.
Barron.

blux
05-07-2007, 11:58
Brad,
How much would you recommend?
Barron.

ILLfarmboy
05-07-2007, 12:21