PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here

koolkatz48
06-20-2007, 16:15
Hello everyone,

Love the site and the discussions. I have gotten back into bourbon sipping after a long absence. Started with JB White Label, then Makers, WT 101, and now working on some Knob Creek. I really prefer the taste of the Knob Creek when compared to the others.

Given that, can anyone suggest other bourbons I might try that would be along the same lines as the KC?

KOOL

jwrussell
06-20-2007, 16:27
Try the others in the Small Batch Collection. Specifically Baker's. Knob Creek was what got me into Bourbon. Welcome aboard.

melting
06-20-2007, 19:15
Yes, the other offerings in the small batch collection would be a pretty good place to start although a little pricey.

I've only recently within the last few years started broadening my horizons with regard to whiskey purchases. It used to be mostly Wild Turkey 101 and Wild Turkey Rye. They still are, by the way, my go to pours.

My new policy is to try everything that I see at least once. Haven't really been dissapointed so far. Even the ones that I didn't particularly care for were worth the 20 or so dollars that it cost. I've found one of the better deals out there besides anything Wild Turkey is the Eagle Rare 10 year. Only about 20 bucks and it's great.

I'd also like to suggest that you try the Elijah Craig 12 and 18 year. Some don't care for the 18 year but to me it's a completely different animal than anything else out there.

Chris

CrispyCritter
06-20-2007, 20:42
Old Grand-Dad, particularly the 100-proof bonded version or the 114, would be well worth trying out. For a change of pace, Elmer T. Lee, or Buffalo Trace.

If you want to give wheaters another go, Old Fitzgerald bonded is an exceptional value - and so is Weller 107-proof.

koolkatz48
06-21-2007, 17:43
Thanks for the suggestions!