PDA

View Full Version : On the Rocks.....

biglarry
10-01-2007, 02:05
I know a lot of ya'll like your bourbon neat (i'm assuming that means straight up, no ice, no water). I've been enjoying Knob Creek on the rocks or with water, and was wondering, what are some bourbons that taste great on the rocks.

p.s.- be patient....I'm a newbie.

T47
10-01-2007, 07:59
I know a lot of ya'll like your bourbon neat (i'm assuming that means straight up, no ice, no water)

Yep, that's what "neat" means. And I do enjoy my Bourbon that way almost all the time. On occassion when the mood hits I will throw a couple ice cubes in. I tend to enjoy the higher proof, higher rye bottles. I think it just changes the flavor a little. I think the only problem might be if you add to much ice to a lower proof Bourbon it might dilute it too much as it melts. So GT Stagg and OGD 114 are a couple that come to mind.

p.s.- be patient....I'm a newbie

I think most folks here will tell you that it's "your" Bourbon drink it the way you like it. Your moods and tastes will change, nothing wrong with that!

whiskeyhatch
10-02-2007, 21:48
Hello Larry. Three bourbons that I think are wonderful over ice (I use crushed ice) are: Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam Black and Maker's Mark. Most others I drink neat or with a splash of water.

ratcheer
10-03-2007, 19:10
Its your Bourbon, drink it the way you like it. :grin:

Seriously, I like mine straight, on the rocks, or with water. Or with ice and water. Or occasionally with ginger ale. Or in a Manhattan cocktail. Or a Sazerac cocktail. Or ....

Tim

whiskeyhatch
10-03-2007, 20:52
Originally Posted by ratcheer
Its your Bourbon, drink it the way you like it. :grin:

Seriously, I like mine straight, on the rocks, or with water. Or with ice and water. Or occasionally with ginger ale. Or in a Manhattan cocktail. Or a Sazerac cocktail. Or ....

Yes but are there any particular bourbons that you like on the rocks? I think that's what he's asking.

ratcheer
10-04-2007, 15:50