PDA

View Full Version : Save ye Money!?

Sycamore Tree
12-23-2007, 18:25
Okay, I will throw this out pretty much knowing that I will be ruffling feathers (due to cognitive dissonance). First off I have a Masters Degree in Marketing/Advertising. So I have some credentials. Second, I defintely love Bourbon. Okay here goes. Fact #1-The best way to improve a brands image is come up with a gimmick and raise the price. The gimmick could be a fancy schmancy bottle and a different story (Glacier water, Single barrel, Distilled 6 times, Selected barrels, age etc...). you've got to have a story.
A long time ago a local "rot gut beer in Texas sold for $1.50a six. Then a slick firm took it over and raised the price to $7 a six and changed the name, and the label from Shiner Premium to Shiner Blonde. Same product different marketing. NOe the Yuppies drink it in mass. Let's look at Vodka. The frosted bottle has done a lot. It made Grey Goose, Chopin, Absolut and Belvedere become succesful overnight.
In a blind taste test-Old Milwaukee beat out the all the other Domestic beers.

People are programmed to believe that more expensive is better. I am the same way. Let's take Rowan's Creek. A relatively new Bourbon priced fairly steep. It has a hand scrawled label-(which denotes, small hand crafted, little and selct) Now Imagine they introduced it at $7 a bottle. Wouldn't you have a negative conontation of it being young and rushed and simple, with limited complexity. Now imagine it was priced at $70 a bottle. Now I believe your mind would be receptive to a deep, complex, taste with a multitude of flavors. We are predisoposed by name, story, bottle and price. I have actually read tasting notes from people obviously biased by its name...Bulleit-Rawhide leather, Sam Houston-hot, wildly spirited perfect for a texas Bar-b-que.