PDA

View Full Version : Old Grand Dad BiB

Barkley
01-29-2008, 09:24
I am a newbie from Oregon. Last night I enjoyed my first encounter with OGD BiB. Very nice and smooth and my amateur taste buds told me it had a butterscotch or caramel flavor with a bit of cinnamon in there. I have a bottle of EC 12 year I am working on and for now I think WT 101 is my standard goto bourbon.

ratcheer
01-29-2008, 14:31
I would like to try it. I enjoy the 86-proof and I love the 114-proof, but I have never been able to try the BIB.

WT101 is also my everyday pour.

Tim

Dr. François
01-29-2008, 14:56
I got to try the OGD BIB in a bar a few weeks ago. I really liked it. I was then able to compare it to the 86...the BIB wins out, but not by too awfully much. The 86 isn't anything to turn down.

I'm still waiting to try the 114.

Did anyone else notice that OGD is all Billy Bob Thornton's character drank in the movie Bad Santa?

Either way, any orange label beats the JB white label any day of the week.

mozilla
01-29-2008, 15:13
I am of the opposite opinion on the current OGD Bib. I found it way too one dimesional and flat. I did like the fact that it was 100 proof , though. If you ever get the chance to taste some ND OGD, don't miss out. I mixed about 50/50 new and old to make things right.
I would also recommend Old Fitz Bib, Tom Moore Bib or any other Bib as an alternative. All seem to be less expensive than the Beam family.

craigthom
01-29-2008, 18:09
Does the current OGD BIB have that butterscotch note? How old is that bottle? It sounds like ND to me.

felthove
02-01-2008, 21:11
Yes it does have the butterscotch. It opens up as such and then shifts gears into a nice zippy rye finish. I find the butterscotch sort of distracting and obvious at times but in the end I find myself compelled to drink the stuff (for the rye tang). It's just endearing and satisfying IMHO.

Sijan
02-11-2008, 20:09
I really like the current OGD BIB as well

Martian
02-12-2008, 20:34