PDA

View Full Version : I like WT 101, need more suggestions

Gov
04-09-2008, 18:27
I am very new to bourbon as I am mainly a scotch and Irish drinker. I really like WT 101 so I need more suggestions as to what other boubons I may like. I also liked Bulleit, EC 12 as well. I did not like MM. Thanx!

callmeox
04-09-2008, 18:54
WT101 is a rye recipe bourbon and MM is a wheater. If you're looking for another rye'd bourbon, check out this thread (http://www.straightbourbon.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8142) which has a great list of recommendations. On page three of that thread, there's a breakdown of which brands are rye recipe and which are wheaters.

Welcome to SB and happy hunting.

spun_cookie
04-10-2008, 00:14
Try Bookers, Old Forester, Four Roses Single Barrel... any of these will doance around what you have already had

jeff
04-10-2008, 04:18
+1 on the Old Forester, the 100 proof if you can find it, but the 86 is nice too. Where are you from? I ask because bourbon brand availability varies by state and region, and that will help others make suggestions.

Welcome :toast:

Gov
04-10-2008, 05:11
+1 on the Old Forester, the 100 proof if you can find it, but the 86 is nice too. Where are you from? I ask because bourbon brand availability varies by state and region, and that will help others make suggestions.

Welcome :toast:

Chicagoland area. The land of "Binny's" and "Sams"

callmeox
04-10-2008, 06:30
Binny's and Sams, AKA "the embarrassment of riches at your doorstep" :cool:

Another vote for the Old Forester Signature. I got mine at Binny and it is an awesome value.

texascarl
04-10-2008, 07:52
I find this article useful when someone wants to know 'what bourbon should I try if I like X but don't care for Y'.

http://www.winemag.com/ME2/dirmod.asp?sid=&nm=&type=Publishing&mod=Publications%3A%3AArticle&mid=8F3A7027421841978F18BE895F87F791&tier=4&id=449744C3B31A498C8588C1F3A01F3E71

ratcheer
04-10-2008, 15:57