PDA

View Full Version : Newbie seeks advice.

bluegrassboozer
04-16-2008, 11:27
Hi, I am pretty new to the world of Bourbon. I grew up around it and, as a kid, was once taken on a school field trip to one of the distilleries in Bardstown. I have been drinking Makers Mark, Ancient Age, Jim Beam, Old Crow, and Old Forrester since I was in my teens. I am looking to know where to begin with something a little "higher on the shelf". Thanks!

bluegrassboozer
04-16-2008, 11:29
Oh, I saw another thread and am headed out for some Buffalo Trace.

bluesbassdad
04-16-2008, 11:45
That's a good start!

I can almost picture you motoring up to Hi-Time (http://edition.cnn.com/2007/POLITICS/08/08/gingrich/index.html#cnnSTCVideo) in Costa Mesa with "Salty Dog" playing at a volume setting of 12. :grin:

Eventually you owe it to yourself to try anything you can find with "Van Winkle" on the label. The Old Rip Van Winkle 10 y/o, 90 proof would do for starters. You'll find the comparison to Maker's Mark, also a wheat recipe, to be very enlightening.

Welcome aboard!

Yours truly,
Dave Morefield

spun_cookie
04-16-2008, 12:45
Four Roses Single Barrel would be a good pick up along with a Weller Centennial.

... adn welcome aboard.

bluegrassboozer
04-17-2008, 10:27
Thank you! It's not often that a Procol Harum reference is slung my way!

DoubleT
04-17-2008, 21:41
Thank you! It's not often that a Procol Harum reference is slung my way!
Wow...it's not often you see someone spell Procol Harum correctly. You must be a true Conquistador.

May I also recommend a couple that aren't too pricey yet are still nice. Old Grand Dad BIB & Wild Turkey 101. You might also enjoy McAfee's Benchmark.

bluegrassboozer
04-19-2008, 23:27
Hey, I went straight to HiTimes and got the Van Winkle 10/107, Old Grand Dad BIB, and the Weller 12/90. I settled in with the Old Grand Dad tonight and can say that I am glad that I reached out to you fellas. I'll try the Weller tomorrow, Van Winkle on Monday. Thanks!

SBOmarc