Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
    Novice

Hello from Ashland(transplant from Pittsburgh)

im new to bourbon tasting, but im glad i found it. it can get quite addictive though... why didnt anyone tell me that!!! anyway, i would just like to post some of my favorites and maybe have some of you evaluate them and advise me on them and other bourbons. i am new so i have a new favorite all the time. thanks for the advice!

Woodford Reserve
    Knob Creek
    Bulleit(the value of this moderately priced bourbon, i believe, is incredible)
    Makers Mark
    Ridgemont Reserve

Guru

Re: Hello from Ashland(transplant from Pittsburgh)

So many recommendations will come your way!

Just a few...

Any Buffalo Trace product / Elmer T Lee
    Wild Turkey Kentucky Spirit
    Rye...inexpensive..Rittenhouse BIB
    Evans Williams SB, Old Forester Signature...both very smooth.
    Weller Antique 107...and on...Four Roses SB

Guru

Quote Originally Posted by branch_water View Post
    Woodford Reserve
    Knob Creek
    Bulleit(the value of this moderately priced bourbon, i believe, is incredible)
    Makers Mark
    Ridgemont Reserve

Not a bad starts.. Jono gave you some good leads as well..

Keep you eye out for the BTAC:
    Gerorge T. Staggs (buy one)
    William L Weller (buy two)
    Eagle Rare (buy one)
    Sazerac (maybe get teh 6 yr saz first)
    Thomas Handy (hold off on this one for a while...)

They all have the same looking bottle.. .and they will all be a kick in the pants for you...

I look forward to your adventure throught the bourbons

Guru

Branch-Water....Frankfort appears to be a couple of hours from you...good place to start with a visit to Buffalo Trace for a tour and sampling. There is a restaurant downtown called Serafini that has a great bourbon collection...stop in and sample a few...they can serve a flight of 4. It is not cheap to sip fine bourbon in bars...but if you can swing it can be rewarding...our meal was pretty good too.

Serafini