Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: WKY newb

Novice

WKY newb

I'm from the western portion of this great bluegrass commonwealth. I am new to the forum but not really new to bourbon. However I am new to bourbon appreciation. Currently I have the following bottles in my collection:

Buffalo Trace
    Maker's Mark
    Old Forester Antique
    Old Weller Signature
    Bulliet Bourbon
    Maker's 46

I am looking for a "primer" so to speak in the appreciation of bourbon. I have over the course of my life tried several of the cheaper bourbons, especially during my fraternity days. I'd like to stay within the state of Kentucky for my introduction to bourbon appreciation. I am planning on picking up some Four Roses Single Barrel this Friday. I currently live in a dry county so I have to travel a bit to pick up some liquid gold so I would like to pick up some less expensive bottles along with the Four Roses this weekend.

Trippah and Admin

Re: WKY newb

Welcome to SB, you certainly have come to the right place.

Cheap KY bourbon that is worth drinking? We can do that!

Look for any of the Heaven Hill bottlings with that says BONDED on the label and also Very Old Barton Bottled in Bond.

If you're looking to explore the hidden gems on the mid to low shelf, you can't go wrong there.
    My name is Joel Goodson. I deal in human fulfillment.
    I grossed over eight thousand dollars in one night. Time of your life, huh kid?

Novice

I'm planning on purchasing one mid range bottle and one low range bottle per paycheck. Every two weeks. Figure that won't hit my pocketbook hard and will allow me to build up a little stash and find my niche.

Disciple

Welcome aboard. It may be more than what you want to spend at first, but I've been serving Blanton's to non-bourbon drinkers with a lot of success. 750 ml is about $55 here in Indiana. I have seen smaller bottles out there as well.

Advanced Taster