Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Hybrid View

Am I the only one who likes Pikesville?

Don't see it mentioned very often here....and for $12/bottle, which is by FAR the cheapest booze I can get here in LA that's not dirty bathwater, I think it's fabolous...anyone agree? I think it's FAR better than Overholt or Jim Beam Rye, as it's really just a younger version of Rittenhouse 100...correct? I had heard that the only diff between that and Rittenhouse BiB is the aging......but what do I know, I'm a newbie.

What say you, Bourbon Nation? I am out of my mind, or is Pikesville pretty decent juice for the $? I really love using it for manhattans or my fave drink of the moment, Rye N Stormy.

Cheers,

B~

Virtuoso

Re: Am I the only one who likes Pikesville?

Absolutely agree. It's one of the best bangs for your buck in American whiskey. Of course, at 80 proof, it's also lower abv than Rittenhouse, but still good stuff, and great for rye cocktails.

http://recenteats.blogspot.com/2009/...ooze-take.html

*e-high five*

A sage of wisdom about booze agrees....so I'm not out of my mind, sa-weet.

Virtuoso

Sage? Well, thanks for that, but far from it. I'm just another smartass with a blog (though I do, of course, know where to find those BTACs in LA).

Disciple

Agreed! The low proof and light nature of the whiskey makes RittBIB a step above. I've only recently acquired a bottle of Pikesville, and I will buy another.

Irreverent One

Never had Pikesville, but a semi-local store started carrying it not long ago.

Say you lived in some Mythical Land(1) where prices were set not by market forces but by Wizards(2) who base them on Secret Lore. In this place WT rye is priced at $22.95 and Rittenhouse BiB and Pikesville both at $21.45. Would the Pikesville still be worth buying?

(BTW, I like WT Rye)

1. Oregon
    2. The OLCC
    Scott

"Remember that your sense of humor is inversely proportional to your level of intolerance."