Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A Hoosier Hello

Hybrid View

Novice

A Hoosier Hello

Hi, everybody!

I'm from Bloomington, IN, and just found this site over the weekend and got pretty excited! I don't know anyone who likes whiskey much other than mixing Jack and Coke, so hopefully I can offload some of my enthusiasm onto this forum so my wife doesn't have to hear any more nuggets of whiskey wisdom such as what "bottled in bond" means . I'm a grad student, so I don't get to grow my collection as fast as I would like, but luckily my favorites (Maker's Mark and Evan Williams) are fairly cheap. I'm excited to learn lots of new stuff and find new things to try!

Also, here's a picture of my oh-so-patriotic booze shelf:
    boozeshelf.jpg

Disciple

Re: A Hoosier Hello

Welcome! My best advise to those who like the cheaper things: don't climb the shelf too fast. There are plenty of good pours out there for <$30, and until you really dial into the features of what you like best, your money is not well utilized chasing a high price tag.

Guru

As a UK fan I'm inclined to tell you one thing, as a bourbon fan I'll simply say hello and welcome aboard! :P

Virtuoso

Howdy and welcome from Michigan.

Best regards, Tony

Guru

Another welcome from Michigan to you Graal, but from an Indiana Ex-pat (Northside of Indianapolis) this time. I have many fond memories of attending some good houseparties in Bloomington in the mid 1990s, and of getting a car towed from the Big Red Liquors parking lot.
    bibamus, moriendum est
    Sipology Blog

Bourbonian Of The Year 2013 and Guru