Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.

Hybrid View

Ughhhh....... Another Hoosier?!

Haha! Yeah, I saw some of the other previous posts. My name is Rex and I am from the Northern part of Indiana. The closest large town to me is Fort Wayne. I am a little new to the bourbon scene but have been spoiled already.

My favorite bourbon is Pappy Van Winkle and Rock Hill. Although the local store has stated price gouging the 12 year after I called one day to put a hold on a case for a group buy. Which really sucks because nobody around here knows how fantastic it is and I am literally the only one who has bought it in 5 years it has been on the shelf.

I am hoping to find some more favorites and recommendations from you guys though. I plan on expanding my palate. I am also a huge cigar smoker and often pair the two which can sometimes work great or actually have the opposite effect.
    I will hopefully be seeing more of you guys in the future and I will look forward to making some new friends.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Guru

Re: Ughhhh....... Another Hoosier?!

Welcome aboard Hoshneer, a separate post about matching Bourbon and cigars should get some informed answers.

Connoisseur

Welcome Hoshneer! Always good to have more Hoosiers onboard!

Take some time to browse around the site. Lots of great info here.

If you're a fan of Pappy, have you tried Old Weller Antique yet? It's the same proof as some of your Pappy's and a wheated mashbill as well. And at a fraction of the cost of Pappy (plus the added advantage of a lack of ridiculous hype) it's worth giving a shot. Around $22 for a 750ml in Indy. Let us know what you think.

Keep an eye out for the Indy gatherings. We are an active group.

Cheers!
    Josh

"The last time I turned down a whiskey, I didn’t understand the question."

Enthusiast

Welcome to the board Rex,

What liqure store in Ft Wayne did you say was overstocked on Pappy............................................. ..?