Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Novice

Greetings from Downriver Detroit!

Hello there. I'm a novice currently living in the downriver detroit area. I'm slowly but surely trying to methodically expand my pallate. So far I've discovered that I'm a high-rye bourbon and straight rye type of guy. I'm interested in tasting wheaters, but I really enjoy the spiciness of the higher rye bottles.

I would also like to network with fellow SB'ers from the region. I've been trying, with no luck, to find tastings, private bottlings, etc in the area.

Guru

Re: Greetings from Downriver Detroit!

Hello a1, welcome aboard, I expect some of our Detroit members will be chiming in about local activities.

Welcome aboard I hope you enjoy your time here. Come join us in chat some time it's in the lower left hand corner of your screen. As for activities in your area and else where keep an eye on the bourbon social thread.
    Normal is an illusion. What is normal to the spider, is chaos for the fly.

Novice

Hopefully I'll be able to pop my head in chat tonight.

Guru

Welcome to SB! Several other Michiganders there, including in your area (my old man - and I mean OLD - is in Downriver as well - Richnimrod; I grew up in the area before escaping Michigan). I'm sure they'll loop you in on area tastings and events. What are some of the high-rye bourbons you're enjoying now? I'm also in that spectrum (not to the exclusion of wheaters, but I definitely lean rye!)
    Gary
    =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
    "Too much of anything is bad, but too much of good whiskey is barely enough." - Mark Twain
    "Because Whiskey Matters!" - David Perkins

Novice