Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hybrid View

Enthusiast

Greetings from NE ATL, Buford that is

Hello all, its great to finally be here after reading only over the last couple of years. My emails were of the type that deny registration so I had to set some things up but finally made it. I have been enjoying TN whiskey/whisky and Bourbon for many years but only since moving to GA have I started touring through the vast sea of brands and flavors available to us. That would put this leg of the journey at a little over 6 yrs.

I started as many do with Jack and Early Times, first with Coke then advancing to Jack neat. A dear friend married a girl from the UK whose father was an avid scotch fan. My friend would receive steady shipments of single malts to try and he was kind enough to invite me to participate. We made our way trough a good number, jotting down notes, categorizing the ones we liked/loved or didn't have a strong feeling either way about. We attempted to be very organized and serious about our evaluations, in reality it was really just a hell of a lot of fun with tasty beverages and stellar company.That fun ground to a halt upon his divorce, we then started trolling the Trader Joes aisles for affordable facsimiles of our favorites (most of which I no longer remember)

I drifted back to Jack, only now the single barrel was available and that became my regular pour. A trip to Nashville exposed me to a large ad painted on the side of a building for George Dickle 12. Intrigued about the existence of another TN whisky I inquired within but no one could tell me anything about it. I tracked some down at a local package store and that is the moment that this journey truly began. I instantly became and remain a big George Dickle fan.

I went through a number of Dickle 12 bottles over the years and then began switching off between that and Woodford Reserve, I had no idea how many choices were available to me.