Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Taster

Bottles that have been NURSED for years

I don't drink the mass quantities that some do here...

...and I go through a decent amount of ETL, EH Taylor, Weller 12, OGD 114, WT101, etc....

BUT...I have a few special bottles that I have been sipping from (nursing) for many years and spraying with nitrogen to keep them from going downhill even faster than they are!

• Pappy 20 year (open 9 years)
    • Hirsch 20 year (open 12 years)
    • Van Winkle Family Reserve Rye (open 9 years)
    • Weller 19 year (open 8 years)
    • Olde St. Nick 20 year (open 13 years)

Every time I take a taste of one, it thrills me, but it chills me that I can no longer get any more (unless I have a spare body part I agree to donate)...

What bottles are you nursing? Do you believe in nursing? Do you have a nursing degree? Do you live in a nursing home?

Guru

Re: Bottles that have been NURSED for years

Damn Oboe, that's impressive. The longest I've had a bottle open is just under 2 years I believe. Currently, the longest open are:

4RSmBLE 2012
    4RSmBLE 2011
    JPS 17 Batch 3
    PHC 2010 (4th edition)

A couple of these have actually been poured into smaller bottles instead of using nitrogen.
    Insert TheNovaMan's signature here (___________)

Connoisseur

HA! Cute questions, Oboe.
    I do not 'nurse' any per se. I have taken a few out of the 'everyday lineup' and make sure not to quaff any of the juice, except when I truly want to savor and slowly enjoy 'em. I think I have about 5-bottles that fit the category. That said, they don't usually last more than a few years or so. The only extra care I give 'em is to decant 'em into smaller containers whenever that seems appropriate.

Advanced Taster

Yea, my oldest open is also at just under 2 years right now, PVW 20. And there's not much left in it, a few more pours probably.
    Last edited by dcbt; 02-04-2014 at 15:13.

Guru