Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shelf life??

Shelf life??

Hi. As you can see by the subject line, I'm new to this. Anyway, I bought a bottle of Maker's Mark for my birthday which was in November. I'm a slow drinker, I guess. But just wanted to know, once the bottle is opened, how long's it good for? I have quite a bit left and would like to eventually drink it. Thanks.
    Peace.

Bourbonian of the Year 2002 and Guru

Re: Shelf life??

My signature line below is the punch line of a joke. In fact, just the opposite is true. For all practical purposes, the whiskey in that bottle will stay good longer than any of us will. Of course, some of us weren't so good to begin with.

Bourbonian of the Year 2007

I'm a slow drinker, I guess. But just wanted to know, once the bottle is opened, how long's it good for?
    Only a few months more, tops. Better bring it to the Gazebo in April or September for careful evaluation.

Okay, thanks. I guess I need a tie-breaker opinion (?)

Bourbonian of the Year 2004 and Guru

Barrel Proof was kidding with ya Your bourbon will keep for a very long time. Years and years ...

Keep it upright, sealed tight, not in direct sunlight or extreme temps...and it should keep just fine

Bettye Jo

Enthusiast

Barrel Proof was kidding with ya You bourbon will keep for a very long time. Years and years ...

I must be doing something wrong, everytime I open a new bottle it disappears in only a few days

Apprentice

Hi there,
    I know that cognac and s***h aficionados often claim that an open bottle starts to deteriorate as time passes and the proportional amount of air in the bottle increases. Some say that a bottle should be consumed within 6 months of opening. Personally I haven't been able to detect any real difference after having a bottle opened for a year or two.