Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Novice
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1

    Question Celiac Disease / Gluten

    I have recently contracted celiac disease which means that my body will no longer tolerate gluten, a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and oats. Does anyone know of a bourbon produced without use of any of those ingredients?
    Jack

  2. #2
    Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Central Arizona (near Prescott), U.S.A.
    Posts
    4,235
    Jack,

    I extend my condolences in regard to your newly discovered condition.

    I don't have an answer to your question. (Hang around; I'd bet a bottle of WT 12 y/o that someone here does.)

    Instead I have a question of my own. Do your doctors know for a medical certainty that the substance in question survives the distilling process and is present in bourbon?

    Yours truly,
    Dave Morefield
    Yours truly,
    Dave Morefield

    Dog Lover, Euphonium Player, Campfire Guitarist, Marksman,

  3. #3
    Bourbonian of the Year 2010 and Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Kentucky!
    Posts
    4,745
    I'll take you up on that bottle (Just kidding)

    I ran across a document in a Website related to the disease that says that gluten peptide is too large to make it through the distilling process. Although I would look farther into the research to how high the distillate needs to be distilled to for your own safety, but at least there's a little hope.

    Here's the link:
    http://www.gluten.net/downloads/info...pt2005flat.pdf

    Here's another link that actually recommends whiskey as a beverage for people with your condition:
    http://digestive.niddk.nih.gov/ddise...liac/index.htm


    Hope this helps
    Last edited by barturtle; 01-22-2006 at 12:38.
    2010 Bourbonian of the Year

    As long as you have good whiskey you're not "unemployed", you're "Funemployed!!!"

    I'm no Pappyophile

  4. #4
    Taster
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    52
    I was under the impression that distilled spirits do not contain gluten. Here's one bit to back me up, but I would do exhaustive research before imbibing any further...

    http://www.jackdaniels.com/faq.asp

  5. #5
    Bourbonian of the Year 2002 and Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    12,375
    Everything I have ever read on the subject says that persons with celiac disease who consume whiskey and other distilled spirits have no more difficulty from consuming them than the rest of us do.

  6. #6
    Taster
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    89
    I am actually asked this question 2-3 times a week and have come up with a boiler plate answer. Here goes:
    My Name is Truman Cox and I am the Lead Chemist at Buffalo Trace Distillery. Most of our products are distilled with no additives after the distillation process. The distillation does remove or denature the proteins and gluten associated with the starting grains. A short answer to your question is that all vodka’s can be considered as gluten free as they are a pure distilled product. Bourbons are also pure distilled and have no additives by law. Tequila is an Agave spirit but may have neutral spirits added, the neutral spirits are at 190 proof and almost always free of proteins. We have done some testing on many of our products for proteins and have not found detectable levels. However to get a “Gluten-free” label is an expensive process and would not be an added value since distilled spirit types are produced the same by law and if one brand of alcohol is, then all of those brands of that type would be considered to be gluten free. If there is a specific product in question, please feel free to let me know and I will help you with any results we have. As always please consult with your doctor or other health professional on this subject.

    After having spoke with the TTB on the subject, they are currently looking at putting rules into place regarding labeling of and for allergins, but for right now it is illegal for any alcoholic beverage to advertise or label an absence of chemical or ingredient. Only the presence of an ingredient may be labelled or advertised. So no bourbon company or label can legally say "it is safe" but your doctor can advise you.

    Etohchem
    Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms.....who brought the chips?
    Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms. Who brought the chips?

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to top