Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Pipe Smoking

Connoisseur

Pipe Smoking

In the next day or so, I'll be off the tobacco shop to get started with pipe smoking. I can't think of anything better on a fall evening than kicking back with a great bourbon, pipe and a book.

Anyone have any suggestions or things I should discuss with the tobaccoist? I have no experience whatsoever with pipes, but I'm looking forward to learning.
    Tim

To alcohol! The cause of, and solution to, all of life's problems.

Connoisseur
    I've smoked a pipe for a few years now. If I was you I would start on a $20 pipe to see if you like it. In a month or two if you are still into it go for a $50 one. Don't smoke too fast or you'll get tounge bite! It's almost unavoidable at first so don't be discouraged. I've been at it for a couple of years and I still learn something everytime I have one!
    Tim

I am going where streams of whiskey are flowing...

Connoisseur
    Okay I went out and got some stuff. The cheapest pipe they had was like $37 dollars, So I got it and some tobacco and a tool, etc. And last night I sat outside on a cold fall night with my pipe, a copy of Richard Russo's Empire Falls and a pour of Pappy Van Winkle 15, it was wonderful.
    Tim

Connoisseur
    Seems like you got it all figured out already. I like the pipe for Winter time because I do not smoke cigars inside the house. The pipe usually gets the nod then.
    Tim

Connoisseur
    I've gotten a Boswell and a Bjarne pipe and several tobaccos. I'm really enjoying it and I find the pairing with bourbon to be far superior than cigars.
    Tim

Connoisseur
    What tobaccos/whiskies have you tried? I'd like to see how they do.
    Tim

Connoisseur
    I'm no expert by any means so please take my elementary recommendations with a grain of salt.