Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.

Thread: Newbie Here

Novice

Newbie Here

I'm looking to become a better educated 'bourbonier' and I'm very happy I came across this board. Looking forward to discovering all that's out there about bourbon. Thank you!

I'm not very experieced, as I've indulged in only about 5 different bourbons, and am dying to buy a new bottle. I'm currently working on Makers, Woodford Reserve, and Knob Creek. Love the Knob Creek - every sip is a little different. Woodford is super smooth and buttery, but not the direction I like.

Anyone have any ideas as to my next purchase if I am into the Knob Creek direction? Smokey, nutty, 100 proof etc...

Bourbonian of the Year 2003 and Super Moderator
    Welcome here. Bookers or Bakers if you want to stay with Jim Beam. Wild Turkey for Smokey high proof.
    ___Bobby Cox___

May you have wonderful things thought of to do...

Connoisseur
    If you like your Maker's, you want to try to find a bottle of Van Winkle, my recommendation goes towards Van Winkle, Special Reserve 12 year old, Lot B. It's a fantastic bourbon, one of the best, IMO. I link them together, because they are both wheaters, meaning that they are made from corn, malted barley and wheat. (Many others are corn, barley and Rye.)
    Tim

To alcohol! The cause of, and solution to, all of life's problems.

Novice
    My warmest thanks. I don't buy bottles very often, so I will have to make my next one count. My wife gives me a curious and ever-so-slightly disapproving look every time I break out the drinking glass, so I have to choose my tasting moments as well.

I am widdling it down to several so far from what I've read...

Bookers
    Eagle Rare Single Barrell
    WL Weller Centennial
    Wild Turkey (101 or Kentucky Spirit)
    Van Winkle 12 Reserve

This may take a while. I'll let you noww how it goes. Thanks again!

Guru