Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

New guy from Holland no less...

Hey there,

I'm Ivo from the Netherlands, and recently I've become interested in America's Native Spirit.

I was referred here by a guy from a scotch whisky forum, TNBourbon was his name-o (ok stupid joke)

Anyway.

I've been drinking scotch for a few years and now I feel the need to expand to other firewaters, I've made myself a selection of what's available here in the low countries.

Elijah Craig 12 YO 28.95
    Blanton's special Reserve 29.95
    Woodfort Reserve Distiller's Select 36.95
    Eagle Rare 10 YO 30,95
    Wild Turkey 8 YO litre 32,95
    Makers Mark 5 YO litre 35.95

All prices are in euro.

I think makers mark is too young, but I think it deserves a chance, also: I've heard that Wild Turkey Rare Breed is supposed to be really good, but the best offering here seems to be the 8YO, so it will have to do.

I'm particulary interested in the top three, I think I'm gonna buy woodfort, and either blantons or elijah craig, but I'm not sure yet and maybe one of you can change my mind on this.

I'm looking forward to reading your comments!

Bourbonian of the Year 2010 and Guru
    Welcome Ivo.

I noticed your selection is fairly limited locally. It may help to know that there a several excellent store in Europe that ship. I'm not sure of any good shops in The Netherlands, but I do know of one in Battice, Belgium. I'm not sure how much you travel, but this may be an option if you wish to avoid shipping.

I'm a big fan of the Eagle Rare, but have never had the Blantons SR (that is the green label 80 proof, right?)

Best of luck in your tastings, you've found the right place to find all the information you could ever want.
    2010 Bourbonian of the Year

As long as you have good whiskey you're not "unemployed", you're "Funemployed!!!"

I'm no Pappyophile

Quote Originally Posted by barturtle
    Welcome Ivo.