Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Novice

Talking Just a little question...

Hi there ^_^

Well im very new to drinking in general (Just turned 18 lol) but ive found i quite like my bourbon. I love my Jim Beam Black (probably a family thing, cause everyone drinks it xD plus a couple o'friends) and i dont really have the money to afford more 'premium' brands (id only be inclined to drink them if someone bought them for me).

But anyways, my question is how is Jim Beam green and yellow label different from the white and the black label?

Virtuoso
    Green label: aged five years (rather than four for the white).
    Yellow label: rye whiskey, aged four years.
    Oh no! You have walked into the slavering fangs of a lurking grue!

Welcome aboard bluelady!

I personally find the Green label to be easier drinking than the Black, even though it hasn't been aged as long. And you can normally pick it up for about $35 if you look hard enough...sometimes cheaper.
    Even though it's only 37% in Australia (opposed to 40% in the US), it is still a pretty good pour.
    Another bourbon I would reccomend to you along those lines is Cougar XS (Xtra Strength), which you can often pick up on special for about $30. Very good value in my opinion!

Where in Australia are you??

Scott
    "I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day" - Frank Sinatra

Novice
    intresting...so the green label is just aged longer than the white, but i dont really understand whats happening with the yellow label lol ^_^;; im new to these terms...

and i live in the brisbane area

Connoisseur
    Quote Originally Posted by bluelady
    ...but i dont really understand whats happening with the yellow label lol ^_^;; im new to these terms...
    I just spent like five minutes typing getting ready to blast you for posting that you are underage. Then I took another look, my bad...