Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Novice

Smile Bourbon Newbie Question

Newbie here who has decided, as I approach middle age, that I'm tired of the bloat of beer and have taken a liking to whisky, especially bourbon. Living in Virginia, my current bourbon of choice is Virginia Gentleman 90 proof. I'm thinking of trying a more premium blend - any suggestions for a brand, given that VG 90 appeals to me? Makers Mark seems to have consistently high ratings, so am considering trying that...

Connoisseur
    hey Vam,

Welcome. My regular pour was VG 90 too. My tastes started out in one direction and as time went on have gone down a different path (expanded). Some of the pours mentioned here in threads are going to seem not that great if you try them right away. But, if you go back to them later on you may find them to your liking.

My tastes went almost immediately to rye heavy bourbons, along with some others. What I'll give you though is the short list of what tasted good to me at the very first and were easy to enjoy (also available).

Weller Antique 107
    Eagle Rare Single Barrel 90 proof
    Sazerac 18 year old (pricey, good and unfortunately not that available)
    Evan Williams Single Barrel (any year)
    Basil Hayden's

I think if it would have been available, Weller 12 year old would have been good as well. Pappy 20 I think is pretty easy to get along with, but all of the younger Pappys, in my opinion take a little bit of getting used to (I didn't like them at first, I do now), even the lot B.

It's all personal taste. Buy a small variety, taste and experiment.

Have fun!
    Mark/Nebraska

Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take... but by the moments that take your breath away. 11/25/2004

Guru
    That's a tough call.

At a gross level it's a question of more of the same vs. branching out. Actually there is no "same", but you get the idea.